The Amateur Gourmet Newsletter
The Amateur Gourmet Podcast
The Secret of the Scallion Pancakes
0:00
-11:08

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Amateur Gourmet Newsletter

The Secret of the Scallion Pancakes

Plus: Ten BBQ Questions with Kevin Bludso and Noah Galuten, Etsy Finds, Broccoli Rabe and Links.
1

Hey Thursday friends,

I’ve decided to combine my Thursday paid-subscriber only dispatches into one e-mail, so you’re not getting the bonus podcast AND the Thursday newsletter in separate emails.

Thusly, you’ll find my Ten Bonus BBQ Questions with Kevin Bludso and Noah Galuten in the player at the top of this post!

Find out which commercially available BBQ sauce Kevin and Noah prefer, which fast food emporium has the best BBQ, whether cornbread should have sugar in it and whether mayo or vinegar (or both?!) make the best coleslaw.

And now for the subject at hand: SCALLION PANCAKES.

Specifically, the ones that I ate at Myers & Chang on my recent trip to Boston. People, these were the best scallion pancakes I’ve ever eaten in my life.

They were puffy and crispy and salty and had a deep, caramelized flavor. I couldn’t stop eating them. If I had to guess, at that moment, how they were made, I would’ve said it had something to do with Joanne Chang’s skills as a pastry chef. Maybe it was a dough similar to filo dough? Or puff pastry? Certainly they were deep fried?

I ordered the Myers & Chang cookbook, but it’s not here yet. Then I found the answer on the internet and it completely blew my mind.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Amateur Gourmet Newsletter to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Amateur Gourmet Newsletter
The Amateur Gourmet Podcast
Are you a person who loves to cook but every now and then you screw up? You've come to the right place! Since 2004, Adam Roberts (aka The Amateur Gourmet) has been writing about his adventures and misadventures in the kitchen. He's the author of three books (including the upcoming Broadway cookbook, Give My Swiss Chards to Broadway) and the author of a biweekly newsletter for Substack. Each week on The Amateur Gourmet podcast, there's a theme, interviews with famous chefs, writers, actors, and cookbook authors connected to that theme, plus visits from friends and family, and lots of yodeling. If you like what you hear, be sure to become a paid subscriber and you'll have access to twice weekly recipes, essays, bonus podcast material (including Ten Feisty Food Questions with that week's guest), plus threads where you can engage with other Amateur Gourmet fans about food topics that you care about. Just know there's no judgment here: we all screw up in the kitchen!